The Fix

The Fix Cover

The Fix

How Addiction Is Invading Our Lives and Taking Over Our World

By Damian Thompson

Collins Publishers, Paperback, 9780007436101, 279pp.

Publication Date: April 23, 2013

Description

Addictions to iphones, painkillers, cupcakes, alcohol and sex are taking over our lives.

Our most casual daily habits can quickly become obsessions that move beyond our control. Damian Thompson, who has himself struggled with a range of addictions, argues that human desire is in the process of being reshaped. Shunning the concept of addiction as disease, he shows how manufacturers are producing substances like ipads, muffins and computer games that we learn to like too much and supplement tradition addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling. He argues that addictive behaviour is becoming a substitute for family and work bonds that are being swept away by globalisation and urbanisation.

This battle to control addiction will soon overshadow familiar ideological debates about how to run the economy, and as whole societies set about fixing themselves, the architecture of human relations will come under strain as never before.

The Fix offers a truly frightening glimpse of the future and is essential reading for fans of Naomi Klein's No Logo, Oliver James's Affluenza and Francis Wheen's How Mumbo-jumbo Conquered the World .



About the Author
Damian Thompson is a recovering alcoholic who continues to wrestle with an addiction to collecting Classical CDs. He s the editor of the Daily Telegraph blogs, a lead columnist in print in the Saturday Telegraph, used to be the director of the Catholic Herald and has been described by the Church Times as a blood-crazed ferret .@HolySmoke"

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.