The Wapshot Chronicle

The Wapshot Chronicle Cover

The Wapshot Chronicle

By John Cheever

Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780060528874, 368pp.

Publication Date: June 28, 2011

Description

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist.

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.