Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color)

The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) Cover

The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color)

By Laura Ingalls Wilder; Garth Williams (Illustrator)

HarperCollins, Boxed Set, 9780060754280, 999pp.

Publication Date: October 12, 2004


Set during the pioneer days of the late 1800s and early 1900s, Laura Ingalls Wilder's books chronicle her life growing up on the Western frontier. Come along for the adventure with this collector's set of the first fiveLittle Housebooks, featuringGarth Williams' interior art in vibrant full color.

The Little House books have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier history and a heartwarming, unforgettable story.

The story begins in 1871 in a little log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their trusty dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, since they must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But it is also exciting as Laura and her family celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night they are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa's fiddle sending Laura and her sisters off to sleep.

And so begins Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family.

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts.