Blueberry Girl

By Neil Gaiman; Charles Vess (Illustrator)
(HarperCollins, Library Binding, 9780060838096, 32pp.)

Publication Date: March 2009

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer 2009 Kids' List
“Neil Gaiman has written a beautiful, multicultural celebration. Three wise women (a maiden, mother, and crone) watch as an infant becomes a girl who transforms into a woman of strength and character. Warm and wonderful illustrations perfectly capture the text.”
-- Ellen Richmond, Children's Book Cellar, Waterville, ME


Description

This is a prayer for a blueberry girl . . .

A much-loved baby grows into a young woman: brave, adventurous, and lucky. Exploring, traveling, bathed in sunshine, surrounded by the wonders of the world. What every new parent or parent-to-be dreams of for her child, what every girl dreams of for herself.

Let me go places that we've never been, trust and delight in her youth.

Nationally bestselling author Neil Gaiman wrote Blueberry Girl for a friend who was about to become the mother of a little girl. Here, he and beloved illustrator Charles Vess turn this deeply personal wish for a new daughter into a book that celebrates the glory of growing up: a perfect gift for girls embarking on all the journeys of life, for their parents, and for everyone who loves them.

Give her all these and a little bit more, gifts for a blueberry girl.




About the Author

Neil Gaiman’s bestselling novels include Neverwhere, American Gods, Coraline, Anansi Boys, and Good Omens (with Terry Pratchett). He is the creator of the Sandman series of graphic novels and author of the short-fiction collections Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things. The winner of numerous literary honors, Gaiman is originally from England but now lives in America.




Praise For Blueberry Girl

“A magical blessing for unconventional girls. Fans of Gaiman and Vess will pounce on this creation; so too will readers who seek for their daughters affirmation that sidesteps traditional spiritual conventions.”
-Publishers Weekly

“A rich and beautiful prayer for a girl. There is nothing cute or cloying here, just beauty, balance and joy.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“An enchanting lullaby poem brought to life by magical paintings for mothers and daughters (whatever their ages).”
-Bookseller

“It is astonishingly lovely.”
-Cookie Magazine

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile