The Stepmother

The Stepmother

By Carrie Adams

Harper, Hardcover, 9780061232657, 368pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2009

Description

Bea Frazier was once the apple of her husband's eye--but now he's picked a more succulent fruit. . . .

Bea thought she'd rediscover her incredible self after divorcing Jimmy. But being home alone with three daughters brings her demons back with a vengeance. The only solution is to get her family together again. The trouble is, her ex is about to marry someone else. To get him back she'll have to reveal the guilty secret she never could when they were married. . . .

The "someone else" is Tessa King, who has finally found love. But her knight in shining armor comes with a catch--or four: three sullen daughters and an ex who doesn't seem nearly ex enough. If the split was amicable, then why are all the other women in his life so hostile? After years of singledom, what is Tessa prepared to do to get her happy ending?

As the women negotiate carpools, puberty, and family loyalties, each finds it almost impossible not to fall into the old cliche of the bitter ex and the wicked stepmother. But if Bea and Tessa are brave enough, each may just find a friend where she once sought an enemy.

Absorbing and touching, humorous and honest, The Stepmother reminds us that there is always another side to the story.



About the Author

Carrie Adams is the author of The Godmother, which is being adapted for film. She lives in London with her husband and three children.



Praise For The Stepmother

“[A] terrific novel...In The Stepmother, by Carrie Adams, Bea has to learn how to accept her ex’s soon-to-be second wife while she struggles to get over him, deal with her daughters, and get a life.”
-Parenting Magazine

“Alternating between Tessa’s and Bea’s viewpoints, this fun sequel to The Godmother is a well- written, punchy fairy tale of a story. Highly recommended.”
-Library Journal

“A refreshingly honest, realistic, and clever look at family, love, and the tangling up of several lives. You will laugh and nod your head in recognition, all while racing through the pages to see how it comes together. I absolutely adored this book!”
-Kate Jacobs, bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club and Knit Two

“Adams follows up 2006’s The Godmother with a perceptive chick noir... Particularly refreshing...Fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin will enjoy Adam’s engrossing second outing.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Adams injects her romantic soap opera with large dollops of pathos, culminating in a fairy-tale ending to this enjoyable and uplifting read.”
-Booklist