Boys Will Be Boys

Boys Will Be Boys Cover

Boys Will Be Boys

The Glory Days and Party Nights of the Dallas Cowboys Dynasty

By Jeff Pearlman

Harper Paperbacks, Paperback, 9780061256813, 406pp.

Publication Date: August 18, 2009


They were called America's Team. Led by Emmitt Smith, the charismatic Deion "Prime Time" Sanders, Hall of Famers Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin and lorded over by swashbuckling, power-hungry owner Jerry Jones and his two hard-living coaches, Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer the Cowboys seemed indomitable on the football field throughout the 1990s. Off the field the 'Boys were a dysfunctional circus, fueled by ego, sex, drugs, and jaw-dropping excess. What they achieved on game day was astonishing; what they did the rest of the week was unbelievable.

Boys Will Be Boys is the rollicking story of the Dallas Cowboys in their prime a team of wild-partying, out-of-control glory-hounds that won three Super Bowls in four years and earned their rightful place in sports lore as the most beloved and despised dynasty in NFL history.

About the Author
JEFF PEARLMAN is the New York Times best-selling author of six books, including Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s;Sweetness: The Enigmatic Life of Walter Payton;Boys Will Be Boys: The Glory Days and Party Nights of the Dallas Cowboys Dynasty;and The Bad Guys Won. He lives in Southern California with his wife and two kids, and blogs regularly at