The Believers

The Believers Cover

The Believers

By Zoe Heller

Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780061430213, 335pp.

Publication Date: January 19, 2010

Description

Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit. New York Times

Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.



Praise For The Believers

“A moving, deeply intelligent look at intellectual loyalties-to ideology, religion, family-and the humans attached to them. This is a wonderful novel.”
-Joseph O'Neill, author of Netherland

“A beautiful, oftentimes hilarious, razor-precise portrait of a family, a city, and an examination of the eternal and universal urge to embrace something, anything, greater than ourselves.”
-Richard Price, author of Lush Life

“Tough, wise and funny. . . . A sustaining, intelligent novel about how the big questions affect and change all our small lives.”
-Anne Enright, author of The Gathering

“Profoundly satisfying. . . . Heller injects that difficult-to-pinpoint something-or-other that elevates soap opera to art. . . . The Believers pulses with . . . something deep and lasting and larger than mere story.”
-Lionel Shriver, author of The Post-Birthday World



NPR
Monday, May 31, 2010

Who says unlikable characters make for unlikable books? The prickly people in Zoe Heller's The Believers are infused with wit and intelligence. Author Meghan Daum says she has recommended the poignant satire to more friends than she can count. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.