Down and Out on Murder Mile

By Tony O'Neill
(Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780061582868, 288pp.)

Publication Date: November 2008

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, a junkie and his wife settle in London's "murder mile," the city's most violent and criminally corrupt section. Persevering past failed treatments, persistent temptation, urban ennui, and his wife's ruinous death wish, the nameless narrator fights to reclaim his life.

In prose that could peel paint from a car, Tony O'Neill re-creates the painfully comic, often tragic days of a recovering heroin addict.




About the Author

Tony O'Neill is the author of Digging the Vein and Down and Out on Murder Mile, and the coauthor of Neon Angel and the New York Times bestseller Hero of the Underground. He lives in New York with his wife and daughter.




Praise For Down and Out on Murder Mile

“Down and Out on Murder Mile doesn’t disappoint if you’re looking for a visceral, grisly experience...Fans of Irvine Welsh and Warren Ellis are sure to enjoy this dark, disturbing journey.”
-Metro

The continuation of O’Neill’s autobiographical debut, Digging the Vein (2006), even more caustic than its predecessor...whip-smart...Call it a junkie fairy tale: Boy meets girl, gets clean and lives. The whole truth with no reservations: not a pretty story, but a rare telling.
-Kirkus Reviews

“Fast-paced, compulsively readable portrait of a young would-be rocker junkie…the novel’s consistent tone of urgency and desperation creates a gritty world of its own that compels.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Tony O’Neill is one of my favorite new writers, and DOWN AND OUT ON MURDER MILE is his best book yet. In O’Neill’s wizardlike hands, all the drugs and sex, the fierce fights and shouts and blaring rock & roll, amount to a story both horrifying and beautiful.”
-Scott Heim, author of Mysterious Skin and We Disappear

“Finishing DOWN AND OUT ON MURDER MILE hurts. O’Neill paints a vividly original picture of addiction and recovery that made my veins thirst and my heart worry.”
-Josh Kilmer-Purcell, author of Candy Everybody Wants and I Am Not Myself These Days

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile