Baseball Great

Baseball Great Cover

Baseball Great

By Tim Green

HarperCollins, Hardcover, 9780061626869, 256pp.

Publication Date: March 24, 2009

Description

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a baseball book pulsing with action. Baseball Great offers a baseball story attuned to today's headlines, a totally involving, character-driven, sports-centered thriller Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

Josh feels like he's starting to make it big Jaden, the school reporter, says he's going to take the baseball team to number one. Then his dad pulls him off the field and signs him up with Coach Rocky Valentine's youth championship team, the Titans. He says Josh has what it takes to be a baseball great and the Titans will help him get there.

Now Josh is gulping down Rocky's Super Stax milkshakes to build muscle and trying to fit in with his new teammates older, tougher kids who can suddenly become violent. All Josh really wants to do is play ball, but as he gets in deeper with the Titans, there are questions he just got to ask. As Josh and his new friend Jaden investigate their suspicions, they find themselves in a dangerous struggle with a desperate man who doesn t want them to expose the nasty secrets they uncover.



Praise For Baseball Great

“Green delivers a fast-paced story, told in short chapters that build to the exciting climax. Add this to other novels that feature the temptations of steroids for young athletes, including Carl Deuker’s Gym Candy (2007) and John Coy’s Crackback (2005).”
-Booklist