Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Unprotected Texts

Unprotected Texts Cover

Unprotected Texts

The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire

By Jennifer Wright Knust

HarperOne, Paperback, 9780061725395, 343pp.

Publication Date: February 7, 2012

Advertisement
Description
"An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing--the fickle dos and don'ts--so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.


Praise For Unprotected Texts

“[Knust mines] the Bible for its earthiest and most inexplicable tales about sex…to show that the Bible’s teachings on sex are not as coherent as the religious right would have people believe.”
-Newsweek

“[An] impressive and highly readable analysis of Old and New Testament Bible stories.... For those wanting to understand the Bible as a chronicle of human conduct for achieving the goals of survival, peace, and fulfillment, this is a treasure.”
-Booklist (starred review)

Advertisement