31 Bond Street

31 Bond Street Cover

31 Bond Street

By Ellen Horan

Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780061773976, 352pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2011

Description

The skill with which Ellen Horan has braided true crime with thoughtful novelizing is pure pleasure. Caleb Carr meets Scott Turow. What could possibly be better? Beverly Swerling, author of City of God

An impressive blend of imagination and history as it vividly brings to life one of New York's City's most notorious crimes. Ellen Horan has written a novel that, once begun, will be difficult for any reader to put down. Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena

31 Bond Street, an unforgettable literary debut from Ellen Horan, is based on the true story of a brutal murder, a desperate mother and mistress, and the vicious constraints of 19th century society. Fans of Caleb Carr's The Alienist, Edith Wharton's The House of Myrth, and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will love the stunning prose and beautiful imagery of 31 Bond Street.



Praise For 31 Bond Street

“31 BOND STREET is an impressive blend of imagination and history as it vividly brings to life one of New York’s City’s most notorious crimes. Ellen Horan has written a novel that, once begun, will be difficult for any reader to put down.”
-Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena

“Horan brings to life a sensational 19th-century New York City murder trial in which a woman is accused of viciously killing her husband. . . . An engaging mix of fact and fiction, with a juicy trial, sensationalistic reporters, and lots of local urban color.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“This thrilling book becomes not only a murder mystery, but a Wharton-esque examination of the mores and customs of antebellum New York society. . . . Rich with historical detail, 31 BOND STREET is one of the best debut novels in a long while.”
-BookPage