Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Husband and Wife

Husband and Wife Cover

Husband and Wife

By Leah Stewart

HarperTorch, Paperback, 9780061774478, 344pp.

Publication Date: April 19, 2011

Advertisement
Description

"Leah Stewart's brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself." -- Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

From the highly acclaimed author of The Myth of You and Me comes a new novel about a young mother who finds her identity rocked to the core when her writer-husband reveals his next novel about infidelity isn't entirely fiction. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Ayelet Waldman, and Marisa de los Santos, as well as memoirs like Happens Every Day and Perfection, will love Leah Stewart's Husband and Wife.



Praise For Husband and Wife

“Stewart’s book does what real life doesn’t always allow: It gives the woman a voice.”
-Raleigh News & Observer

“Stewart creates a crisis of faith where adult reality collides with youthful dreams. The writing is tactile, elemental, even comical, providing readers with a situation that could so easily be their own.”
-Library Journal (starred review)

“Heartbreaking and darkly humorous. . . . [Stewart] is an acute social observer.”
-BookPage.com

“Leah Stewart’s brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself.”
-Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

“Hilarious, heartbreaking, and wise, Husband and Wife is a novel to savor. Stewart’s bright heroine is faced with an impossible choice—and I couldn’t put the book down until I’d followed her story to the end.”
-Amanda Eyre Ward, author of Love Stories in This Town

“This narrative voice is so alive and specific that it moves past the idea of ‘narrative voice’ to become a human woman speaking to you. . . . I cherish this wry, funny, aching, intelligent character and this book!”
-Marisa de los Santos, author of Belong to Me and Love Walked In

Advertisement