The Magnificent Medills

The Magnificent Medills Cover

The Magnificent Medills

America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

By Megan McKinney

Harper, Hardcover, 9780061782237, 464pp.

Publication Date: October 11, 2011

Description
"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended " Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet WorldIn the vein of Alan Brinkley's The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham's Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family a riveting true story of the country's first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.


Praise For The Magnificent Medills

“[An] immensely entertaining book. . . . McKinney vividly re-creates the city’s no-holds-barred newspaper culture.”
-Chicago Tribune

“Shifting smoothly from the life of one Medill, Patterson or McCormick to another, in the end she achieves a clear and comprehensive family biography, with all its complex interconnections.”
-New York Times Book Review

“A solid account of this family.”
-Washington Post

“Megan McKinney has written a knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It’s impossible to understand today’s modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!”
-Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World

“Megan McKinney’s wonderfully researched, thoroughly engrossing, The Magnificent Medills, reveals Chicago’s McCormick-Patterson family in all its dazzling brilliance and delicious eccentricity.”
-David Garrard Lowe, author of Lost Chicago

“Compulsively readable.  . . . With its backdrop of wealth and power, The Magnificent Medills reads almost like a rich historical novel. It just happens to be true.”
-BookPage

“An intensely personal look at the Medill family. . . . Meticulously researched and detailed.”
-Washington Independent Review of Books

“Chicago historian McKinney provides the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill newspaper dynasty. . . . Deftly tell[ing] the tale of one of America’s first families of business.”
-Philanthropy Magazine Review

“Ink, booze and eccentricity flow through a newspaper dynasty’s veins in this lively, gossipy clan bio. . . . Like her subjects, McKinney blends canny fact-finding, well-paced narrative and colorful detail into a compulsively readable confection.”
-Publishers Weekly

“It is their brilliance in publishing newspapers when newspapers really mattered, combined with lives full of fault lines, that truly fascinates. . . . A solid account of the life and times of a family that was indeed magnficent.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“This portrait of a storied newspaper dynasty packs a powerful punch.  . . . Not only a compulsively readable collective biography but also an overview of the rapid evolution of the American newspaper industry during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries.”
-Booklist

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.