The Queen of Palmyra

The Queen of Palmyra Cover

The Queen of Palmyra

By Minrose Gwin

William Morrow & Company, Paperback, 9780061840326, 416pp.

Publication Date: April 27, 2010

Description

The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird. Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill

Exquisitely beautiful The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion. William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues

An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett's The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.



Praise For The Queen of Palmyra

...a brilliant and compelling novel... The beauty of the prose, the strength of voice and the sheer force of circumstance will hold the reader spellbound from beginning to end.”
-Jill McCorkle, author of THE GOING AWAY SHOES

The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill A Mockingbird....A story about knowing and not knowing, The Queen of Palmyra is finally a testament to the ultimate power of truth and knowledge, language and love.
-Lee Smith, author of ON AGATE HILL

Divert your reader and, and then “clobber” them, advised Flannery O’Connor. In this bold and brilliant book, Minrose Gwin diverts us with the affecting voice of a child and then clobbers us with the ugly truths of our collective past. I can almost hear O’Connor cheering.
-Sharon Oard Warner, author of Deep in the Heart

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.