Warlord

Warlord Cover

Warlord

A New Alex Hawke Novel

By Ted Bell

Harper, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780061859311, 704pp.

Publication Date: June 28, 2011

Description

British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative Alex Hawke has all but given up on life, ever since he lost the woman he loved almost a year ago. But now an old friend desperately needs his help His Royal Highness Prince Charles.

A shadowy figure from the past has the British Crown in his sights, and has already proven that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. A not-so-subtle threat has been directed toward the British royal family, with an ominous connection to the assassination of the beloved Windsor patriarch, Lord Mountbatten, thirty years ago. Early clues point to IRA involvement but the truth could be worse . . . much, much worse. It is just the sort of call to duty Hawke needs to propel him back into action. But the combination of an elusive maniac assassin on the prowl for royal blood and an unholy brotherhood of jihadists wreaking explosive global terror may be more than the recovering counterspy and his world can survive.



About the Author
Ted Bell, former writer-in-residence at Cambridge University, was chairman of the board and worldwide creative director of Young & Rubicam, one of the world's largest advertising agencies. He is the New York Times bestselling author of Warriors, Phantom, Warlord, Tsar, Spy, Pirate, Assassin, and Hawke, along with two YA adventure novels.


Praise For Warlord

“With a style that feels more like Trevanian than Ian Fleming (but is imitative of neither, the Hawke novels are full of danger and derringdo, but they’re written in a light, breezy tone.... A thrilling adventure yarn that’s a guaranteed winner.”
-Booklist

“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Thriller readers looking for an unabashed romp with a patriotic heart and a smart take on modern-day terrorism will be amply rewarded.”
-Publishers Weekly

“[An] edge-of-your-seat thriller.... A smart take on modern-day terrorism.”
-National Examiner

“Ted Bell puts a capital A in adventure. . . . Warlord will bowl you over with a level of excitement rarely read in today’s spy novel. Commander Bond might choke on his martini next to Ted Bell’s superlative Alex Hawke series.”
-Madison County Herald on Warlord