My Year with Eleanor

My Year with Eleanor Cover

My Year with Eleanor

By Noelle Hancock

Ecco Press, Hardcover, 9780061875038, 295pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2011

Description

I honestly loved this book. Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious we readers are lucky to be along for the ride. Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia

In the tradition of My Year of Living Biblically and Eat Pray Love comes My Year with Eleanor, Noelle Hancock's hilarious tale of her decision to heed the advice of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the year before her 30th birthday. Fans of Sloane Crosley and Chelsea Handler will absolutely adore Hancock's charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant and inspiring personal growth.



Praise For My Year with Eleanor

“It’s a terrific book!”
-Kathie Lee Gifford, The Today Show

“Poignant...hysterical...While there are plenty of books with women ‘taking a year,’ don’t dismiss this one.”
-Forbes.com

“In this lighthearted and often funny memoir, Hancock...brings her experiences to vivid life and, through her interest in and compassion for Eleanor, is kinder to herself; there is plenty to entertain and inspire.”
-Publishers Weekly

“A charmingly candid memoir of the year a young journalist spent conquering her deepest fears.... Inspired, white-knuckled fun from start to finish.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Whether she is confronting terrifying sharks in a diving cage or her tangled feelings about her boyfriend Matt, she demonstrates how thrilling it can be to face your fears. I double-dare you to read this book!”
-Booklist

“Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious—we readers are lucky to be along for the ride.”
-Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia

“Noelle Hancock makes an eloquent case for spending a year with Eleanor Roosevelt, but an even more persuasive one for spending 300 pages with Noelle Hancock. Her book is a fresh and funny delight.”
-Andy Borowitz

“Noelle Hancock joyfully shows us the exhilaration of confronting fear, whether that fear is jumping out of airplanes or having a committed relationship with another adult—or reading something longer than a tweet.”
-A.J. Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Year of Living Biblically

“Beneath the hilarious and heart-racing adventures of Noelle Hancock’s year of fear is a wise and heartfelt book about becoming the person you’ve always wanted to be.”
-Jill A. Davis, New York Times bestselling author of Girls' Poker Night

“I honestly loved this book. It had all the qualities of great sex; intense, funny, and parts of it were so uncomfortable my palms were sweating.”
-Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.