Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Secret Lives of the Four Wives

The Secret Lives of the Four Wives Cover

The Secret Lives of the Four Wives

By Lola Shoneyin

William Morrow & Company, Paperback, 9780061946387, 280pp.

Publication Date: July 5, 2011

Advertisement
Description

"Alternately funny, shocking, and sad...a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
--Sacramento Book Review

"A magical writer.... A] delicious story."
--Huffington Post

Lola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her fabulously entertaining debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives. Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO's Big Love will be enthralled by this colorful and captivating tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives' deepest, darkest secrets.

Advertisement