The Whites of Their Eyes

The Whites of Their Eyes Cover

The Whites of Their Eyes

Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington

By Paul Lockhart

HarperTorch, Hardcover, 9780061958861, 414pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2011

Description

Drawingupon new research and scholarship, historian Paul Lockhart, author of thecritically acclaimed Revolutionary War biography The Drillmaster of ValleyForge, offers a penetrating reassessment of the first major engagement ofthe American Revolution. In the tradition of David McCullough's 1776, Lockhart illuminates the Battle of Bunker Hill as a crucial event in thecreation of an American identity, dexterously interweaving the story of thispivotal pitched battle with two other momentous narratives: the creation ofAmerica's first army, and the rise of the man who led it, George Washington.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.