The Mystery of the Missing Everything

By Ben H. Winters
(HarperCollins Publishers, Hardcover, 9780061965449, 263pp.)

Publication Date: September 2011

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2012 Kids' Next List
“I am thrilled that Bethesda and the gang from The Secret Life of Mrs. Finkelman are back. Winters' sly humor and hip music references make a fantastic story that much better. This perfectly paced mystery has enough clues and surprises to keep the reader guessing until the book's end. More, Ben Winters, more! I loved this!”
-- Christopher Rose, Andover Bookstore, Andover, MA


Description

There has been a shocking crime at Mary Todd Lincoln Middle School.

In a glass case in the front hall, a trophythe trophy, the first trophy ever won in the schools lackluster competitive historyhas been stolen.

Even more horrifying, an outraged Principal Van Vreeland has canceled everything fun until the trophy is back, including the eighth graders long-awaited, once-in-a-lifetime field trip to Taproot Valley. Rock climbing, ropes courses, ecology hikes, smores . . . all gone!

Luckily, Bethesda Fielding is on the case. As self-appointed sleuth extraordinaire, Bethesdas confident shell be able to track down the culprit in no time and save her class trip! Except it seems like the more she searches for answers, the more mysteries she reveals. . . . Can Bethesda solve this baffling mysteryor are the eighth graders doomed for a Week of a Thousand Quizzes instead?




About the Author
Ben H. Winters is an Edgar Award nominee and a New York Times best-selling author. His most recent novel, Bedbugs, was hailed by Vanity Fair as a diabolical tale of paranoia. He lives in Indianapolis, Indiana.


Praise For The Mystery of the Missing Everything

PRAISE FOR THE MYSTERY OF THE MISSING EVERYTHING: “Middle-school antics and general good humor will surely strike the right chord.”
-Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“The plot moves along in humorous and engaging style. Winters differentiates his large cast of characters by providing insights into a variety of adolescent vulnerabilities, making this a case that will interest both solid and reluctant mystery readers.”
-School Library Journal

“This zany sequel offers another fast-moving middle-school puzzler, lots of pre- and early teen humor and one relentless sleuth who’s willing to admit when she’s wrong. Fans will cheer more mystery and mayhem at Mary Todd Lincoln Middle School.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“This is a just-plain-fun read that culminates in a wholly satisfying ending, and it will easily appeal to fans of Andrew Clements and Gordon Korman, as well as anyone who ever watched School of Rock or High School Musical and imagined putting on the best show ever.”
-Booklist

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile