How to Love an American Man

How to Love an American Man Cover

How to Love an American Man

A True Story

By Kristine Gasbarre

Harper Paperbacks, Paperback, 9780061997396, 292pp.

Publication Date: August 16, 2011

Description
A lovely, warm, and poignant true story that reads like compelling fiction, How to Love an American Man is Kristine Gasbarre's unforgettable memoir recalling the valuable lessons on love she learned from her newly widowed grandmother and how Grandma's advice and memories enabled the author to find and fall for a man with an old-fashioned approach to romance. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love, women readers drawn to tales of powerful female bonding, and anyone looking for a beautiful love story will be moved and, perhaps, profoundly inspired by How to Love an American Man.


Praise For How to Love an American Man

Gasbarre’s reflections should resonate with many readers…including those who enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love
-Booklist

“A beautifully written, heartfelt gem. Disguised as a romance, it is actually a story of familial bonds, personal growth and faith.”
-Lisa Oz, New York Times bestselling author and radio host

“Gasbarre writes with style, grace and plenty of humor, maintaining a perfect balance. Hers is a genuine quest. Up close and personal, here is a bright light on the road to Love”
-Alphie McCourt

The author’s treatment of the central conflict that drives the book-the quintessentially modern female quandary of finding lasting love while staying true to personal ambitions-comes across with an integrity and veracity women readers will undoubtedly appreciate…Chick-lit-alicious.”
-Kirkus Reviews

Kristine Gasbarre is a modern-day Jane Austen ... with sparkling wit, this spunky heroine faces modern women’s search for love..That’s where her grandmother comes in, gently schooling her in the art of courtship and, ultimately, identity. A page-turner that leaves you guessing until the very end.”
-Jean Twenge, Ph.D., author of Generation Me and co-author of The Narcissism Epidemic

“How to Love an American Man is fresh, funny, and original. Kristine Gasbarre has written a love story without borders. Dive in and enjoy!”
-Adriana TrigianiAdriana TrigianiAdriana TrigianiAdriana TrigianiAdriana TrigianiAdriana TrigianiAdriana Trigiani