Ali in Wonderland

And Other Tall Tales

By Ali Wentworth
(Harper, Hardcover, 9780061998577, 272pp.)

Publication Date: February 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Growing up in a family of political journalists—and daughter of President Reagan’s White House social secretary—Ali Wentworth rebelled against her blue-blood upbringing, embracing Hollywood, motorcycles, even a few wildly inappropriate marriage proposals. Today she is an acclaimed comedic actress and writer, former Oprah regular, wife of political and media star George Stephanopoulos, and a mother who lets her two girls eat cotton candy before bed. Though she’s settled down, her rebellious nature thrives in her comedy and her view of her crazy world.

In this addictively funny and warm memoir, she takes us through the looking glass and into the wonderland of her life, from a childhood among Washington’s elite to a stint in the psych ward they called a New England prep school; days doing L.A. sketch comedy (with then-aspiring artists Will Ferrell and Lisa Kudrow) to a series of spectacularly failed loves (that eventually led her to Mr. Right). Constant throughout is her mother, Muffie—a flawlessly elegant yet firm, no-nonsense force of nature and pure WASP convictions.

As charming and off-the-wall as Ali herself, Ali in Wonderland is an entertaining look at life that is both intimate and hilarious.




About the Author

Ali Wentworth made a name for herself on the comedy series In Living Color, and has appeared on such television shows as The Tonight Show with Jay Leno; Seinfeld; Head Case; and The Oprah Winfrey Show, for which she was a correspondent. Her film credits include Jerry Maguire, The Real Blonde, Office Space, The Love Bug, and It's Complicated. A native of Washington, D.C., Wentworth lives in New York City with her husband, George Stephanopoulos, and their two girls. She hosts "The Daily Shot with Ali Wentworth" on Yahoo. Follow Ali on Twitter @AliEWentworth.




Praise For Ali in Wonderland

“Hilarious.”
-Marie Claire

“Everything that comes out of Ali Wentworth’s mouth is funny!”
-Jerry Seinfeld

“Ali Wentworth’s book is like Chicken Soup for the Vagina. Gays and straight men, I’m not leaving you out here! Ali is truly one of the quickest, funniest girls I’ve ever met. Enjoy!”
-Kathy Griffin

“Ali has written a truly hilarious book . . . and she’s also a good kisser!”
-Chelsea Handler

“Wentworth is amusing and frank, often frenetic, with sharp intelligence underneath the sassy wackiness; passages about her struggle with depression, falling in love with her husband, and her daughter’s baptism have funny moments, but they’re thoughtful and touching, too…. Highly entertaining memoir.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Ali Wentworth is funny and warm and crazy all at once. Like Barbara Eden. But on something. Like crystal meth.”
-Alec Baldwin

“I would tone down the pee and fart references.”
-Muffie Cabot (Ali's mother)

“[A] lively, laugh-out-loud memoir....Fans of Amy Sedaris and Merrill Markoe will enjoy Wentworth’s warped Weltanschauung and wicket wit.”
-Book

“Ali Wentworth tumbles comically through Ali in Wonderland.”
-Vanity Fair

“[H]ilarious...”
-Food & Wine

“Unanimous applause greeted this actress-comedian’s tour of her fabulous life…all recounted in a manner that had one reader wondering if Wentworth is ‘a long-lost sister of the Sedaris clan.’”
-Elle, Readers' Prize February 2012

“[A] satirical dissection of class and privilege….A smart, often-funny memoir.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“A breezily amusing memoir...”
-New York Post

“One of the most hilarious reads I’ve enjoyed in a long time.”
-Gwyneth Paltrow, goop

“With candor and humor, [Wentworth] writes about her life, her marriage and growing up in the elite world of her illustrious mother…”
-Julie Hinds, Detroit Free Press

Indie Bookstore Finder

Ali in Wonderland

 

More Book Videos



Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile