Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

How to Be Black

How to Be Black Cover

How to Be Black

By Baratunde Thurston

HarperTorch, Hardcover, 9780062003218, 254pp.

Publication Date: January 31, 2012

Advertisement
Description
The Onion's Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like "How to Be the Black Friend," "How to Speak for All Black People," "How To Celebrate Black History Month," and more, in this satirical guide to race issues--written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media's insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture's richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America's blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston's How to Be Black.


Praise For How to Be Black

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.”
-Fast Company

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.”
-Booklist

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black.
-The Root

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.”
-Christian Lander (via Twitter)



NPR
Monday, Feb 6, 2012

Thurston is the son of a pro-black, pan-African mother. He straddled the worlds between his troubled neighborhood in Washington, D.C., and the elite halls of Harvard University. He speaks with host Michel Martin about some of his witty and profound thoughts on race. His new book How To Be Black is part of Tell Me More's memoir series for Black History Month. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

NPR
Wednesday, Feb 1, 2012

From the comedian and digital director of The Onion, a satirical self-help book for anyone who has a black friend, wants to be the next black president or speak for the black community. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

Advertisement