Cinderella Smith

The More the Merrier

By Stephanie Barden; Diane Goode (Illustrator)
(HarperCollins, Hardcover, 9780062004406, 144pp.)

Publication Date: April 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Vexylent.
V-E-X-Y-L-E-N-T.
Vexylent.

Okay, okay, "vexylent" isn't a real word! Cinderella Smith made it up as a combination of "very" and "excellent." But Cinderella and Erin are hard at work learning to spell real words, because whoever wins first place in the spelling bee gets to pick the theme of the class party!

Speaking of words, Rosemary T. has been using some pretty mean ones lately. So Cinderella decides to give her the silent treatment. But Cinderella's aunt Flora tells her that it's time to have a "what's what" with Rosemary.

Will Cinderella be able to say, and spell, everything she needs?




About the Author

In between tripping over abandoned shoes, chasing after escaped pets, and searching for lost belongings, Stephanie Barden wrote her first book, Cinderella Smith, which has been widely praised. She teaches classes at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle, where she lives with her husband, Tom; son, Joe; and eighty-pound lapdog, Otis.




Praise For Cinderella Smith

Fans of Clementine and Ramona will enjoy good-natured Cinderella’s triumph over mean girls and her success at a tap-dance recital, all embellished by Diane Goode’s simple black-line illustrations.
-Seattle Times

“Cinderella’s bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode’s emotive line drawings, is infectious…It’s hard to leave Cinderella behind.
-Horn Book Magazine

“Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative.”
-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Funny and clever! Readers will love this modern day Cinderella. It’s a delight…with the most satisfying ending.”
-Patricia Reilly Giff, Newberr Honor winner and author of best-selling Polk Street School series

Goode’s appealing line drawings keep things light and help readers cheer for Cinderella.The invented words, the spelling bee and Cinderella’s voice, which is maturing and becoming more likable, make this a great offering for youngsters who are figuring out the confusing social terrain of third grade
-Kirkus

Cinderella is back and as irrepressible as ever. A simple joy of a book, Barden’s story has given third-graders their very own hero whose final decision of inclusiveness is warming.
-Booklist

The plucky heroine is right at home beside Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona. Her experiences are true to life and she remains comfortable in her own skin. Cinderella is an ally to the kids in her class, and might inspire some readers to speak up themselves.
-School Library Journal

“The sweet first-person narrator [and] black-line illustrations by Diane Goode add to the charm.”
-Seattle Times

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile