Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Castle Behind Thorns

The Castle Behind Thorns Cover

The Castle Behind Thorns

By Merrie Haskell

Katherine Tegen Books, Hardcover, 9780062008190, 327pp.

Publication Date: May 27, 2014

Advertisement
Description

This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author of The Princess Curse and Handbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale.

When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle's secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave.

Advertisement