Q

A Novel

By Evan Mandery
(William Morrow Paperbacks, Paperback, 9780062015839, 368pp.)

Publication Date: August 2011

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

“Q, Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, is the love of my life.”

Shortly before his wedding, the unnamed hero of this uncommon romance is visited by a man who claims to be his future self and ominously admonishes him that he must not marry the love of his life, Q. At first the protagonist doubts this stranger, but in time he becomes convinced of the authenticity of the warning and leaves his fiancÉe. The resulting void in his life is impossible to fill. One after the other, future selves arrive urging him to marry someone else, divorce, attend law school, leave law school, travel, join a running club, stop running, study the guitar, the cello, Proust, Buddhism, and opera, and eliminate gluten from his diet. The only constants in this madcap quest for personal improvement are his love for his New York City home and for the irresistible Q.

A unique literary talent, Evan Mandery turns the classic story of transcendent love on its head, with an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.




About the Author

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School, a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City, and the author of Dreaming of Gwen Stefani, First Contact, Q: A Novel, and two works of non-fiction.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. Q raises some important moral questions. Was it ethical for the older version of the main character, I-55, to encourage the main character to change the path of his life? What about the other older versions?




Praise For Q

“[A] delightful New York-infused novel …. A word to the tear prone: Don’t attempt to read the ending in public.”
-New York Times Book Review

“[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery’s eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing.”
-Booklist

“Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth.”
-Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

“A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way.”
-M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

“Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable.”
-Jessica Anya Blau

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
Daily Love
Mastin Kipp
Hay House
The Magician's Land
Lev Grossman
Viking Adult
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile