Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Q

Q Cover

Q

A Novel

By Evan Mandery

William Morrow & Company, Paperback, 9780062015839, 368pp.

Publication Date: August 23, 2011

Description

A philosophical, witty, wonderful, and altogether magical love story. M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

Amiably outrageous .Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth. Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

I ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home

Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a smart, romantic, and funny novel about tender and requited love, a wonderfully original literary feat from Evan Mandery, a rapidly rising fiction star. Taking the classic love story and turning it on its head, Mandery brilliantly blends outrageous humor, existential philosophy, and heartbreaking angst while offering a wealth of satisfying surprises. Funny and wise, a magical tale of a man obsessed yet unable to allow himself the fulfillment of a perfect romance with the one true love of his life, Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a uniquely delightful work of fiction from one of the most exciting novelists currently on the literary scene.



Praise For Q

“[A] delightful New York-infused novel …. A word to the tear prone: Don’t attempt to read the ending in public.”
-New York Times Book Review

“[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery’s eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing.”
-Booklist

“Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth.”
-Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

“A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way.”
-M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

“Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable.”
-Jessica Anya Blau