The Crown of Embers

By Rae Carson
Greenwillow Books, Hardcover, 9780062026514, 410pp.

Publication Date: September 2012

List Price: $17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read " A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting against assassination attempts and more and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book " and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended.




About the Author
Rae Carson is the author of the New York Times bestselling Girl of Fire and Thorns series. Her books tend to contain lots of adventure, magic, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. Originally from California, Rae Carson now lives in Arizona with her husband.



Praise For The Crown of Embers

“There are books you like, and books you love, and then there are the ones that make you go past ‘love’ and straight into, ‘I think I may need to marry this book.’ The Crown of Embers was that type of book for me. I adored it.”
-Rachel Hawkins, author of the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre. . . . Nothing is held back.”
-USA Today

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns:William C. Morris Award FinalistAndre Norton Award Finalist“Romantic, lush, and thought provoking.”
-Booklist

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns:“Fans of Tamora Pierce’s “Beka Cooper” series will find a kindred spirit in Elisa as she experiences great adversity and heart-wrenching loss.”
-School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns:“Carson’s mature writing style, thoughtful storytelling, appealing characters, and surprising twists add up to a page-turner with broad appeal.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound