Hello Goodbye

Hello Goodbye Cover

Hello Goodbye

By Emily Chenoweth

Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780062034601, 273pp.

Publication Date: June 14, 2011

Description

Tender....Chenoweth saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth. NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth's intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh's The Condition, Susan Minot's Evening, and Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper's Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife's passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy....Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life.



About the Author
Emily Chenoweth is a former fiction editor of "Publishers Weekly". Her work has appeared in "Tin House", "Bookforum", and "People", among other publications. She lives in Portland, Oregon.


Praise For Hello Goodbye

“This bright, well-crafted novel, set at a family gathering to celebrate a mother whose death is imminent, steers competently away from the maudlin and makes what could be a heavy-handed exploration of mortality instead an entertaining, sometimes delicate story.”
-Lydia Millet

“Chenoweth avoids sentimentality, handling emotions with grace and consummate skill.”
-New York Journal of Books

“Tender....Chenoweth’s affectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth.”
-New York Times on Hello Goodbye

“Chenoweth writes with a restraint that allows minor gestures to become elegantly weighted with meaning.”
-New Yorker on Hello Goodbye

“Poignant.”
-Boston Globe on Hello Goodbye

“Elegantly crafted.”
-Vanity Fair on Hello Goodbye

“A tender ode to empathy.... Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of the terrible, wrenching beauty of life.”
-Elle Magazine on Hello Goodbye

“Moving and assured.... Chenoweth’s smart, unsentimental and poignant takes on living and dying ring true, and her exploration of coming-of-age and coming to terms with mortality is divine.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Hello Goodbye

“An understated debut novel of great beauty and power.”
-Kirkus Reviews on Hello Goodbye

“[Chenoweth] writes gracefully and eloquently of loss and love, portraying both generations at their most self-absorbed and most vulnerable.”
-Library Journal on Hello Goodbye

“A beautiful novel ...Chenoweth’s eye for telling detail is as sure as her language is playful.”
-Alice Sebold, author of The Almost Moon and The Lovely Bones, on Hello Goodbye