Fire on the Horizon LP

The Untold Story of the Gulf Oil Disaster

By Tom Shroder; John Konrad
(HarperLuxe, Paperback, Large Print, 9780062066541, 378pp.)

Publication Date: March 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A real-life thriller in the tradition of The Perfect Storm, Fire on the Horizon recounts the life of the Deepwater Horizon drilling rig—from its construction in South Korea in the year 2000 to its journey around the world to its disastrous end.

On and off the rig, Fire on the Horizon reveals the particulars of a culture most of us have never known, from the small maritime colleges to Transocean's training schools and Houston headquarters, and culminates in the harrowing minute-by-minute account of the fateful day, April 20, 2010, when the half-billion-dollar rig blew up, taking the lives of eleven people and leaving an unprecedented swath of natural destruction in its fiery wake.




About the Author

Tom Shroder was an editor and writer at The Washington Post from 1999 to 2009. Under his stewardship, The Washington Post Magazine won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in both 2008 and 2010. He is the author of the nonfiction bestseller Old Souls. He lives in Vienna, Virginia.




NPR
Sunday, Apr 17, 2011

It's been one year since the Deepwater Horizon oil rig exploded and sank, killing 11 workers and spilling 5 millions barrels of oil into the Gulf of Mexico. Host Liane Hansen talks with John Konrad, author of Fire on the Horizon: The Untold Story of the Gulf Oil Disaster. Konrad is a veteran oil rig captain, and in the book he recounts the life of the rig, from its construction to its disastrous end. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.




Praise For Fire on the Horizon LP

“One of the best disaster books I’ve ever read...I tore through it like a novel but with the quesy knowledge that the whole damn thing is true. A phenomenal feat of journalism.”
-Sebastian Junger, author of The Perfect Storm and War

“Harrowing...the best account yet of what went wrong.”
-—Daily Beast

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile