Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The All of It

The All of It Cover

The All of It

By Jeannette Haien

Harper Perennial, Paperback, 9780062090096, 145pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2011

Advertisement
Description

Jeannette Haien's award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas--perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor's Wise Blood--is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review). Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition with an introduction by Ann Patchett.

Advertisement