Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Arranged

Arranged Cover

Arranged

By Catherine McKenzie

William Morrow & Company, Paperback, 9780062115393, 389pp.

Publication Date: May 15, 2012

Advertisement
Description

"Catherine McKenzie's Arranged is a rare book: smart, funny, honest, and absorbing."
--Therese Walsh, author of The Last Will of Moira Leahy

"A satisfying and entertaining romantic tale that puts a contemporary twist on old-fashioned ideas about marriage. I inhaled it in an afternoon, rooting for its heroine to find the love she longs for."
--Leah Stewart, author of Husband and Wife

In Arranged, author Catherine McKenzie (Spin) looks at love and marriage from a whole new perspective--telling the story of a successful, popular, but somewhat romantically desperate young woman who agrees to let a highly secretive arranged marriage service help her marry a perfect stranger. An original tale of risky contemporary romance and unconventional matchmaking, Arranged is delightful fiction from a fresh and fun new voice.



Praise For Arranged

“This zany novel gallops through the perils of one thirty-something redhead’s desperate search for love and marriage, no necessarily in that order.”
-Elle Canada

“Just when you think you’ve got Arranged figured out, time and again Catherine McKenzie delivers the flawless, unexpected twist that keeps you glued to the book.”
-Cathy Marie Buchanan, author of The Day the Falls Stood Still

“A novel that explores what happens when what you think want collides with what you really need. Catherine McKenzie’s Arranged is a rare book: smart, funny, honest, and absorbing.”
-Therese Walsh, author of The Last Will of Moira Leahy

“A satisfying and entertaining romantic tale that puts a contemporary twist on old-fashioned ideas about marriage. I inhaled it in an afternoon, rooting for its heroine to find the love she longs for.”
-Leah Stewart, author of The Myth of You and Me and Husband and Wife

“Catherine McKenzie brings a smart twist to marriage and relationships in her second novel, the story of unlucky-in-love Anne Blythe. Arranged is crafted with pathos and subtle humor, and through it McKenzie’s heroine learns—the hard way—that the happiest endings are often the ones least expected.”
-Shawn Klomparens, author of Jessica Z and Two Years, No Rain

“This is chick lit for real women, featuring a smart, competent heroine with a hopeless romantic streak…The humor ranges from biting sarcasm to slapstick, and the narrative voice is compulsively readable…Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Jennifer Crusie have found a new author to watch.”
-Booklist (starred review)

“Anyone who has ever looked for love in all the wrong places will love McKenzie’s latest tale of romance found in the place one least expects it. A real page-turner, Arranged is a perfect beach read. McKenzie will have readers laughing and crying right along with her heroine.”
-RT Book Reviews

“In her fast-paced and fun second novel, Catherine McKenzie...makes this far-fetched idea plausible and entertaining. With good dialogue, three-dimensional characters, and page-turning scenes, McKenzie expertly explores what makes a successful marraige work and the lengths to which some people will go to find true love.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Make a date with Catherine McKenzie’s Arranged this summer. A smart and honest novel about a woman’s desperate search for love and marriage, it will hit home for many.”
-SheKnows.com "Must Read" on ARRANGED

Advertisement