American Gun

American Gun Cover

American Gun

A History of the U.S. in Ten Firearms

By Chris Kyle; William Doyle; Jim DeFelice

William Morrow & Company, Paperback, 9780062242723, 302pp.

Publication Date: May 27, 2014


Drawing on his legendary firearms knowledge and combatexperience, U.S. Navy SEAL and #1 bestselling author of American Sniper Chris Kyle dramatically chronicles the story ofAmerica from the Revolution to the present through the lens of ten iconic gunsand the remarkable heroes who used them to shape history: the American longrifle, Spencer repeater, Colt .45 revolver, Winchester 1873 rifle, SpringfieldM1903 rifle, M1911 pistol, Thompson submachine gun, M1 Garand, .38 Specialpolice revolver, and the M16 rifle platform Kyle himself used. American Gun is a sweeping epic ofbravery, adventure, invention, and sacrifice.

Featuring a foreword and afterword by Taya Kyle andillustrated with more than 100 photographs, this new paperback edition featuresa bonus chapter, The Eleventh Gun, on shotguns, derringers, and the BrowningM2 machine gun.

About the Author
SEAL Team 3 Chief Chris Kyle (1974-2013) served four combat tours in Operation Iraqi Freedom and elsewhere. For his bravery in battle, he was awarded two Silver Stars, five Bronze Stars with Valor, two Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medals, and one Navy and Marine Corps Commendation. A native Texan, his spare time was spent helping disabled veterans. Chief Kyle is survived by his wife and their two children.

William Doyle is an award-winning author based in New York. His 2011 book A Soldier's Dream: Captain Travis Patriquin and the Awakening of Iraq was hailed by Fox News as "a phenomenal book, staggering," and by the Huffington Post as "a truly inspirational story about an American soldier who epitomized our country's values." In 2012 he coauthored A Mission from God, the memoir of civil rights giant James Meredith. He also served as director of original programming and executive producer for HBO.

Jim DeFelice is the co-author of Chris Kyle s #1 New York Times bestseller American Sniper. He also is the author of Omar Bradley: General at War, the first in-depth critical biography of America s last five-star general, and the co-author of the New York Times bestseller Code Name: Johnny Walker: The Extraordinary Story of the Iraqi Who Risked Everything to Fight with the U.S. Navy SEALs. He writes acclaimed military thrillers, including the Rogue Warrior series from Richard Marcinko, founder of SEAL Team 6, and the novels in the Dreamland series with Dale Brown.