Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Whispering Trees

The Whispering Trees Cover

The Whispering Trees

By J. a. White; Andrea Offermann (Illustrator)

Katherine Tegen Books, Hardcover, 9780062257291, 528pp.

Publication Date: March 10, 2015

Advertisement
Description

Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, book two in the acclaimed Thickety series is the story of a good witch, a bad witch, and a forest demon, trapped together in a world that is both enchanting and dangerous.

After Kara Westfall's village turns on her for practicing witchcraft, she and her brother, Taff, flee to the one place they know they won't be followed: the Thickety. Only this time Kara is magicless without her grimoire and Sordyr, the forest demon, is intent on keeping them there. Kara and Taff will meet other inhabitants of the Thickety in their search for a safe way out, including the infamous witch, Mary Kettle. But can they trust anyone--plant, creature, witch, book, or magic--to help them escape, to undo Grace's final terrible spell, and to stop Sordyr's horrible reach from spreading across the rest of the world?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Advertisement