Dumplin'

Dumplin' Cover

Dumplin'

By Julie Murphy

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen, Hardcover, 9780062327185, 384pp.

Publication Date: September 15, 2015

Description

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine Dumplin is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed Dumplin by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . untilWill takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But sheissurprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself.So she sets out to take back her confidence by doingthe most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant along with several other unlikely candidates to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she ll shock the hell out of Clover City and maybe herself most of all.