Assassin's Heart

Assassin's Heart Cover

Assassin's Heart

By Sarah Ahiers

Harper Teen, Hardcover, 9780062363787, 432pp.

Publication Date: February 2, 2016

Description

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.



About the Author
Sarah Ahiers spent her childhood running around outside with her siblings, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Now, she is working toward an MFA in writing for children and young adults at Hamline University and lives outside of Minneapolis with three dogs and a house full of critters. She has a collection of steampunk hats, and when she's not writing, she fills her time with good games, good food, good friends, and good family.