Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Ask Me How I Got Here

Ask Me How I Got Here Cover

Ask Me How I Got Here

By Christine Heppermann

Greenwillow Books, Hardcover, 9780062387950, 240pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2016

Advertisement
Description

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here.

Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend--her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend--are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that--even though she knows it was the right decision for her--nothing is the same. She doesn't want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn't want to run cross country anymore; she can't bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who's going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.

Advertisement