Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Deacon Locke Went to Prom

Deacon Locke Went to Prom Cover

Deacon Locke Went to Prom

By Brian Katcher

Katherine Tegen Books, Hardcover, 9780062422521, 400pp.

Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Advertisement
Description

The love life of an awkward teen takes an unforgettable turn after he brings his grandmother to prom in this funny, offbeat, and smile-inducing contemporary romance that is pitch perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider.

Promposals are taking over Deacon Locke's high school and there is no place left to hide. But even with graduation looming, shy and unusually tall Deacon doesn't think he can get up the nerve to ask anyone to the dance. Especially given all the theatrics.

It isn't until Deacon confides in his witty and outgoing best friend Jean that he realizes should could be a great person to take. Only problem is Jean isn't your typical prom date. She's older. A lot older. And she's Deacon's grandmother.

But when Deacon meets Soraya--a girl unlike any other he's ever met--he fears he has totally squandered his chances of having a prom he'll never forget. Deacon couldn't be more wrong. About everything.

Deacon Locke Went to Prom is award-winning author Brian Katcher's fifth novel.

Advertisement