Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Orphan Island

Orphan Island Cover

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder

Walden Pond Press, Hardcover, 9780062443410, 288pp.

Publication Date: May 30, 2017

Advertisement
Description

"A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true." --Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the Moon

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them--and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today's Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny's best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now--to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they've always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back--and take her away forever from the only home she's known?

Advertisement