The Ersatz Elevator

By Lemony Snicket; Brett Helquist (Illustrator)
(HarperCollins Publishers, Hardcover, 9780064408646, 272pp.)

Publication Date: February 2001

List Price: $12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

Ages 10+




About the Author
LEMONY SNICKET had an unusual education, which may or may not explain his ability to evade capture. He is the author of the 13 volumes in "A Series of Unfortunate Events", several picture books, including "The Dark", and the All the Wrong Questions series. His most recent collaboration with Seth is "File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents", a collection of thirteen mini-mysteries set in Stain d-by-the-Sea.

SETH is a product of the Canadian education system, where he learned that doodling in the margins could translate into gainful employment. He is the multi-award-winning creator of cartoons, graphic novels and a barbershop located in Guelph, Ontario, where he resides.

Web: lemonysnicketlibrary.com



Brett Helquist's celebrated art has graced books from the charming Roger, The Jolly Pirate, to the alarming New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events, to the cozy E. B. White Read-Aloud Award finalist bedtime for bear. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile