A Series of Unfortunate Events #6

The Ersatz Elevator

By Lemony Snicket; Brett Helquist (Illustrator); Michael Kupperman (Illustrator)
(HarperCollins, Hardcover, 9780064408646, 272pp.)

Publication Date: March 2001

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Hardcover, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I′m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket′s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

Ages 10+




About the Author

Lemony Snicket is often despondent, mostly about his published research, which includes A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Composer Is Dead.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile