The Lime Twig

The Lime Twig

By John Hawkes; Patrick McGrath (Introduction by); Robert Coover (Preface by)

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780140189827, 384pp.

Publication Date: June 1, 1996

Three early novels by John Hawkes
This volume brings together three early novels by John Hawkes. "The Lime Twig" is set in the underworld of postwar London; "Second Skin" is a tale of suicide and new life on two mythical islands; and "Travesty" is a monologue on fear and eroticism that takes place during a drive at night.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author
John Hawkes (1925-1998) was one of the most innovative and widely regarded novelists of the twentieth century. Born in Stamford, Connecticut, and educated at Harvard University, Hawkes taught at Brown University for thirty years. Praised by Leslie Fiedler, Flannery O'Connor, and William H. Gass, who wrote, "when it comes to the engravement of the sentence . . . no one can match him," Hawkes was the author of numerous acclaimed novels, including The Lime Twig, The Beetle Leg, Second Skin, Adventures in the Alaskan Skin Trade and The Passion Artist.

Patrick McGrath is the author of numerous novels, including "Port Mungo," "Asylum," "Spider," "The Grotesque," and "Martha Peake: A Novel of the Revolution," He lives in New York.

Coover teaches at Brown University. He also lives in Providence, RI.