My Year of Meats

My Year of Meats

By Ruth L. Ozeki

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780140280463, 400pp.

Publication Date: March 1999

A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love the breakout hit by the celebrated author of "A Tale for the Time Being"
Ruth Ozeki's mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by "USA Today "as rare and provocative and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, "My Year of Meats "is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair's "The Jungle" for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

About the Author
Ruth Ozeki, author of the award-winning novel "My Year of Meats," worked for more than a decade in television and film. Her documentary and dramatic films have been shown on PBS, at the Sundance Film Festival, and at colleges and universities across the country.