Redwall

Redwall

By Brian Jacques; Gary Chalke (Illustrator)

Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, Paperback, 9780142302378, 351pp.

Publication Date: September 30, 2002

Description
Perfect for fans of C. Alexander London's "The Wild Ones, "and" Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH."
The question in thisfirst volume is resoundingly clear: What can the peace-loving mice of Redwall Abbey do to defend themselves against Cluny the Scourge and his battle-seasoned army of rats? If only they had the sword of Martin the Warrior, they might have a chance. But the legendary weapon has long been forgotten-except, that is, by the bumbling young apprentice Matthias, who becomes the unlikeliest of heroes. Teeming with riddles, humor, unforgettable characters, and high-bounding adventure, the original Redwall, the launching point for a series that has captured the world's attention, features seven full-color illustrations by renowned illustrator Troy Howell. This new paperback edition is a must-have for both longtime fans and first-time readers.


About the Author
Brian Jacques has had many professions, including longshoreman, truck driver and folk singer. In addition to a vast international readership, he has acquired a devoted army of listeners with his weekly radio program on BBC Merseyside. For this recording Brian himself leads a full cast of actors he personally selected for their ability to bring his characters to vivid life.
Fans of Brian Jacques will enjoy "Redwall," the first installment in this saga, which is also available from Listening Library. This recording, performed by the author and a full cast, was a 1998 Audie Award winner.