Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Prairie Evers

Prairie Evers Cover

Prairie Evers

By Ellen Airgood

Puffin Books, Paperback, 9780142426685, 215pp.

Publication Date: September 4, 2014

Advertisement
Description
This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isn't all it's cracked up to be. She's always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairie's family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isn't very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivy's world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind.


About the Author
Ellen Airgood grew up on a small farm, and for the past nineteen years she and her husband have run a diner together in a small town in Michigan. Her adult novel, South of Superior, was published to much acclaim. Prairie Evers is her first children's book. She lives in Grand Marais, Michigan.


Praise For Prairie Evers

Praise for Prairie Evers

"[Airgood] introduces irrepressible Prairie Evers, a 10-year-old country girl whose skill at turning bad situations into good ones is as impressive as the size of her heart." —Publishers Weekly

“A great book to recommend to readers who like a lively heroine and an intelligent, refreshing, and unpretentious plot.” —School Library Journal

"Easy-going, earnest story of friendship and family." —Kirkus Reviews

“Heartwarming. . . . Readers will love Prairie’s independent spirit and care about her relationships.” —Library Media Connection

"Those who miss Eva Ibbotson will find comfort in Airgood’s world." —Booklist

Advertisement