The Well of Lost Plots

The Well of Lost Plots Cover

The Well of Lost Plots

By Jasper Fforde

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143034353, 375pp.

Publication Date: August 3, 2004

Description
The third installment in Jasper Fforde's "New York Times "bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England
Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking "New York Times" bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books like the one she has taken up residence in are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it's up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de forcewill appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday's zany investigations continue with "Something Rotten." Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including "One of Our Thursdays is Missing" and Jasper Fforde's latest bestseller, "The Woman Who Died A Lot." Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world


About the Author
Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. "The Eyre Affair "was his first novel in the bestselling series of Thursday Next novels, which includes "Lost in a Good Book," "The Well of Lost Plots," "Something Rotten," "First Among Sequels," "One of Our Thursdays is Missing," and "The Woman Who Died A Lot." The series has more than one million copies in print(and counting). He is also the author of "The Big Over Easy" and "The Fourth Bear" of the Nursery Crime series, "Shades of Grey," and books for young readers, including "The Last Dragonslayer." Visit jasperfforde.com."


Praise For The Well of Lost Plots

The well of FfordeÆs imagination is bottomless. . . . Delightful. (People)

Fforde creates a literary reality that is somewhere amid a triangulation of Douglas Adams, Monty Python, and Miss Marple. (The Denver Post)

FfordeÆs inventiveness remains a bookwormÆs delight. (Entertainment Weekly)