The Cold Dish

The Cold Dish Cover

The Cold Dish

By Craig Johnson

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143036425, 354pp.

Publication Date: March 28, 2006

Description
Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Dry Bones, the first in the Longmire mystery series, the basis for the Netflix original seriesLONGMIRE.
Craig Johnson'sThe Highwaymanis now available from Viking.An Obvious Fact will be available in September 2016.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.



About the Author
Craig Johnsonis theNew York Timesbestselling author of the Longmire mysteries, the basis for the hit Netflix original seriesLongmire. He is the recipient of the Western Writers of America Spur Award for fiction, the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Award for fiction, the Nouvel Observateur Prix du Roman Noir, and the Prix SNCF du Polar. His novellaSpirit of Steamboatwas the first One Book Wyoming selection. He lives in Ucross, Wyoming, population twenty-five."


Praise For The Cold Dish

"We in the West have a major new talent on our hands." —The Denver Post



"A winning piece of work, and a convincing feel to the whole package." —The Washington Post



"Craig Johnson does it right, with style, grace, wildfire pace, and a sense of humor." —Bob Shacochis