The Cold Dish

The Cold Dish

By Craig Johnson

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143036425, 354pp.

Publication Date: March 28, 2006

Description
Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the "New York Times "bestselling author of" Any Other Name" and"Dry Bones," the first in the Longmire series, the basis for "LONGMIRE," the hit drama series now on Netflix

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which "New York Times" bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.
Craig Johnson's"The Highwayman"will be available from Viking on May 17, 2016.



About the Author
Craig Johnson is the author of the Book Sense and Killer picks "Death Without Company, The Cold Dish," and "Kindness Goes Unpunished," all featuring Walt Longmire. "The Cold Dish" was also chosen as a Dilys Award finalist.


Praise For The Cold Dish

"We in the West have a major new talent on our hands." —The Denver Post



"A winning piece of work, and a convincing feel to the whole package." —The Washington Post



"Craig Johnson does it right, with style, grace, wildfire pace, and a sense of humor." —Bob Shacochis