Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories

Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories

The Complete Ghost Stories of M. R. James, Volume 1

By M. R. James; S. T. Joshi (Editor)

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143039396, 288pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2005

The only annotated edition of M. R. James's writings currently available
"Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories" contains the entire first two volumes of James's ghost stories, "Ghost Stories of an Antiquary "and "More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary." These volumes are both the culmination of the nineteenth-century ghost story tradition and the inspiration for much of the best twentieth-century work in this genre. Included in this collection are such landmark tales as Count Magnus, set in the wilds of Sweden; Number 13, a distinctive tale about a haunted hotel room; Casting the Runes, a richly complex tale of sorcery that served as the basis for the classic horror film Curse of the Demon; and Oh, Whistle, and I ll Come to You, My Lad, one of the most frightening tales in literature. The appendix includes several rare texts, including A Night in King's College Chapel, James's first known ghost story.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author
M.R. James spent 35 years writing and editing material for Bowhunter magazine, which he founded in 1971.

S. T. Joshi is a widely published literary critic and editor.