Three Novels of New York

Three Novels of New York Cover

Three Novels of New York

The House of Mirth/The Custom of the Country/The Age of Innocence

By Edith Wharton; Richard Gray (Illustrator); Jonathan Franzen (Introduction by)

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143106555, 770pp.

Publication Date: February 29, 2012

For the 150th anniversary of Edith Wharton's birth: her three greatest novels in a couture-inspired deluxe edition featuring a new introduction by Jonathan Franzen.
Born into a distinguished New York family, Edith Wharton chronicled the lives of the wealthy, the well born, and the nouveau riches in fiction that often hinges on the collision of personal passion and social convention. This volume brings together her best-loved novels, all set in New York.
"The House of Mirth"is the story of Lily Bart, who needs a rich husband but refuses to marry without both love and money."The Custom of the Country"follows the marriages and affairs of Undine Spragg, who is as vain, spoiled, and selfish as she is irresistibly fascinating. The Pulitzer Prize-winning"The Age of Innocence"concerns the passionate bond that develops between the newly engaged Newland Archer and his finacee's cousin, the Countess Olenska, new to New York and newly divorced.
For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators.

About the Author
Edith Wharton (1862-1937) is the first woman to win the Pultizer Prize. She wrote more than forty books, among them "Ethan Frome" and "Summer."

Jonathan Franzen is the author of the novels "Freedom" and "The Corrections," which won the National Book Award.

Richard Gray is a fashion illustrator who has worked with Alexander McQueen, De Beers, and Givenchey.