Chaos

Making a New Science

By James Gleick
(Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143113454, 360pp.)

Publication Date: September 2008

List Price: $20.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory
National bestseller

More than a million copies sold
A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller "Chaos "introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In "Chaos," Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.




About the Author
James Gleick's three books, Chaos, Genuis, and Faster, have been translated into nearly thirty languages. Gleick, a former reporter and editor of the New York Times, lives in New York.>


Praise For Chaos

“ Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt.” The New York Times
“ Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes.” The New York Times Book Review
“ Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws.” Chicago Tribune
“ An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch.” —Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Chaos is a feast.” The Washington Post Book World

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile