The Dead Lie Down

The Dead Lie Down Cover

The Dead Lie Down

By Sophie Hannah

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143117490, 470pp.

Publication Date: June 1, 2010

A heart-stopping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of "The Wrong Mother" and "The Other Woman's House"
Ruth Bussey once did something wrong horribly wrong and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret, and one day he confides in Ruth: years ago, he killed a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's initial horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive. So why does Aidan insist that she's dead?

The fourth book in Sophie Hannah's beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, "The Dead Lie Down" is a sophisticated, addictive page-turner that will appeal to fans of Laura Lippman and Tana French.

About the Author
Sophie Hannah is the New York Times bestselling author of nine psychological thrillers and The Monogram Murders, the first novel to be authorized by the estate of Agatha Christie. Her books have received numerous awards, including a UK National Book Award, and are published in twenty-seven countries. She lives in Cambridge, England.