The Dead Lie Down

The Dead Lie Down Cover

The Dead Lie Down

By Sophie Hannah

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143117490, 470pp.

Publication Date: June 1, 2010

A heart-stopping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of The Wrong Mother and The Other Woman's House
Ruth Bussey once did something wrong horribly wrong and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret, and one day he confides in Ruth: years ago, he killed a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's initial horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive. So why does Aidan insist that she's dead?

The fourth book in Sophie Hannah's beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Dead Lie Down is a sophisticated, addictive page-turner that will appeal to fans of Laura Lippman and Tana French.

About the Author
Sophie Hannah is the bestselling author ofnine novels and is also an award-winning poet. Her Hercule Poirot mystery, the first to be sanctioned by the Agatha Christie estate, was published in 2014. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children, and is a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College."