Everything Matters!

By Ron Currie, Jr.
(Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143117513, 305pp.)

Publication Date: July 27, 2010

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
"Startlingly talented . . . he survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice all his own." -Janet Maslin, "The New York Times"
In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn't believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, "Everything Matters " is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.



About the Author
Ron Currie, Jr., is the winner of the Addison M. Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, as well as the New York Public Library Young Lion's Award. The author of God Is Dead, EverythingMatters!, and Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles, he lives in Waterville, Maine.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile