Everything Matters!

Everything Matters! Cover

Everything Matters!

By Ron Currie

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143117513, 305pp.

Publication Date: July 27, 2010

Description
"Startlingly talented . . . he survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice all his own." -Janet Maslin, "The New York Times"
In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn't believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, "Everything Matters " is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.


About the Author
Ron Currie Jr. is a native of Waterville, Maine, and whose fiction has appeared in "Glimmer Train," "The Sun," "Other Voices" and "Night Train." His stories have won prizes in The World s Best Short Story competition and have been shortlisted for the Fish International Short Story award and "Swink" magazine s Emerging Writer Award. "God is Dead" is his first novel. "